January 12, 2009

  • Guilt-Free Gaming?

    I've been having trouble justifying why I should play video games these past couple months.  They sure are fun to play and there are so many that are good, but it's starting to feel like a waste of time.

    When I play a video game now, I am thinking about all the other things that I should/could be doing that would be a better use of my time.  I could sit there and play a game for three hours or I could do something more productive with that time, such as work on my website, draw up some cartoons or finish up something else that I needed to do.  I feel too guilty playing video games that I can't really do it anymore, and that's sad =(

    Hopefully one day, that guilt will go away and I can finally sit down and play a game without worrying about what I'm not doing.

Comments (7)

  • If you just leave it alone for a few months and find something else to take the place of it, it'll be a guilt-free experience again.

  • That's pretty sad, I'm dissapointed in you Justin.  I'm forced to be productive in college, and all the time I'm thinking "why am I here?  I'd rather be playing videogames."  There's so many good games out, and I've got a huge stack of em at home that I've had for years and havent had the chance to touch. 

  • I think you're looking at this all wrong. Playing video games IS working on myfellowgamers- indirectly. If you stopped playing games, eventually you'd run out of things to say on the comparisons, and then where would you be? It'd be awfully sad if the site's creator couldn't add something to the conversations.

    So you have my permission to play games (almost) whenever. It's better than having you hole up in the computer room anyway! So you play, and I'll just say  random things to you to inspire more lefthanded toons and bam! You're doubly productive (and apparently an Emeril wannabe) .

  • @JustALittleBibi - Hehe, sounds like a plan =)  I'll just try to pick ones that aren't really boring or annoying to watch (Skate)

  • I feel guilty for NOT playing the game that I paid for (L4D)!  I need to pick that up again.

  • I feel the same way. But it has a weird effect on me. I feel so bad that I am wasting my time that I waste time thinking about ti and never reallly stop.

  • It's a form of entertainment.  Like watching a movie and you lose at least an hour of your life just sitting there.  Video games make you think and enhance your ability to react.  Definitly get your money's worth.  You can also learn from playing games like Trauma Center, you never know when you need to perform emergency surgery!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

test