Month: March 2009

  • The Jetsons vs Salt n Pepa

    So, my girlfriend was watching Jetsons: The Movie today and at the end of the movie, they had a sweet early 90's Jetsons' rap.  Only problem is that it sounds like they totally ripped off Push It by Salt n Pepa.

    Judge for yourself.

    Jetsons' Rap

    Push It (skip to about 1:20 for the parts that are most similar)

    So first off, they both are around the same BPM.  That really doesn't mean much, but they also have the same cowbell-type instrument thing going on along with the simple beat.  On top of that, the main synth line in the Jetsons one is really really similar to Push It.  You can actually hum the main synth from Push It over the Jetsons' Rap and it will sound totally normal. 

    Some elements can be attributed to the early 90's, but there are just way too many similarities to be a coincidence.

  • I Write Music Sometimes

    I felt like writing music today and this is what came out.  It's just the beginning of a potential song.  Hopefully one day it will evolve into a full song.

    I usually never post my unfinished music online because I always feel like someone will steal it.  Well, if that happens with this one, then I'll know not to ever post it online again =P

  • Prodigy

    I went to see Prodigy last night here in NYC and it was totally insane!  I've never seen that many people going crazy to music ever in my life.  They had the craziest lights going on on stage too.  I just wish they could have played more songs, but I don't know if my body could have taken it.

    I'm still totally exhausted from the show and, even after sleeping in, I'm still kinda out of it.

    It was raining all night, which was kinda lame because we had to stand outside in line for about an hour.  All I hope is that I don't get a cold or something.  I should be fine though, I already got my cold a month or so ago.

    All my thoughts are coming out fragmented right now =P

    In front of me, this guy took off his shirt and bounced around a ton, thus covering my arms in his sweat.  I really hate when people do that.

    I think I really have to see Prodigy again the next time they are around.  Luckily, since it's NYC, it's definitely possible.

    Off to take a shower and finally head into the office to do some Xanga programming =)

test